Woodstock Cuba Saddle Club Banquet

post-title post-title post-title
By Lydia Holland

Photos by Courtney Simpson  

[List of all the year-end winners]

The 2016 season for Woodstock Cuba Saddle Club (WCSC) ended on December 10, 2016 at Grace Community Church, near Shelby Forest, TN, with a pot luck style year-end banquet. Awards were given to the top five in each class, with first place winners getting the option of a Gist Belt Buckle or Jacket. Second place winners were given the option of a custom cowhide picture frame or keepsake box. Third place winners received a hay bag; fourth place winners received a hoodie; and fifth place winners received a Ozark Trail Tumbler – all personalized with the WCSC logo. Trophies were given to second through fifth place for the lead in and buckaroo classes.  

There was plenty of food and fellowship that evening, with new officers and board of directors elected.  WCSC had a great season, ending with a total of 1,984 entries for 12 shows. WCSC held a benefit show in memory of long term member Rose Hannah Fair and hosted their annual Halloween Trick or Trot show.  

President John Morgan did a great job for the club once again and paved the way for many great things to come, including the tear down of the old arena fence in preparation for a new vinyl fence that will be installed in 2017.  

The youth group had a great year too! They hosted the third annual Horseapalooza in the spring, had lunch with Dr. Brent Pugh, held a horsemanship clinic in June, had a 2-day Barrel Clinic in July. They ended the year with their Annual Youth Blow Out Party at the club, complete with water slides, moon bounce and mud football.  They also participated in Paw Days at Tractor Supply Company , where they brought dogs and a mini horse for the community to see.

The 2017 newly elected officers and Board of Directors are: President John Morgan, Vice President Kevin Stone, Secretary/Treasurer Lydia Holland. BOD members are: Larry Grandberry, Flo Munoz, Buck Friskillo, Jacob Mackling, Kim Looney, Tammy Becerra, Humberto Becerra, Gloria Eppich, John Green and Jayme Belk.

For more information about WCSC call John at 901-412-0327. You can also visit them online at http://www.mywcsc.com/or on facebook.

All around winners were: Pony, Olivia Morgan; Youth, Grace Looney; Senior, Larry Grandberry. 

The youth vote on the following awards, which are kept a surprise until banquet.

Most Improved: Layla Holland

Best Sportsmanship: Emily Cresswell

icon Subscribe

to Our Newsletter